Luminant Shadows

Luminant Shadows is an orchestration of the first movement of my second sonata for alto saxophone and piano of Light and Shadows. Rather than convert the movement into a concertino featuring a saxophone soloist with wind ensemble, I followed the conception of the original version, which seamlessly joined the saxophone and piano as if they were a single instrument. Thus, the wind-and-percussion orchestra, as a single instrument itself, subsumes all the original material, redistributing it throughout the wide spectrum of colors available to the ensemble.

Luminant Shadows is a mostly quiet nocturne in arch form, reflecting on the interactions between light and light’s shadow-creating obstructors.

This version for wind ensemble was completed on April 15, 2018.


November 2018 Crane School of Music, SUNY Potsdam


2 Flutes
Alto Flute
2 Oboes
English Horn
E-flat Clarinet
3 B-flat Clarinets
Bass Clarinet
Soprano Saxophone
Alto Saxophone
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone
2 Bassoons

4 Horns in F (4)
3 B-flat Trumpets
3 Trombones
Bass Trombone
2 Euphoniums

Double Bass

4 Percussion
1. Gong, Tam-tam, Suspended cymbal
2. Crotales, Glockenspiel, Suspended cymbal
3. Chimes, Marimba
4. Vibraphone, Suspended cymbal



ca. 12 minutes

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This